Executive Council

The executive council of the Australasian Cytometry Society is comprised of the current president, secretary and treasurer, as well as either the immediate past president, or the president elect. All appointments are by election at the Annual General Meeting of the Society, which normally coincides with the Annual Scientific Meeting.


Maggie Wang, PhD
Director of Scientific Operations
Westmead Institute for Medical Research
and Westmead Research Hub

Dr Xin Maggie Wang obtained her Master of Science in Medicine in 2001 and PhD in 2007 from the Faculty of Medicine, the University of Sydney, Australia. After one year postdoc training in the Liver Lab at the Centenary Institute, she took the senior flow cytometry scientist position at the Western Sydney Area Health in 2008 and became the manager of the Westmead Research Hub Flow Cytometry Core Facility in 2011. Since 2016, she has been overseeing nine Scientific Platforms (also called Core Facilities) including flow cytometry at the Westmead Institute for Medical Research and the Westmead Research Hub. For the last 14 years she has been heavily involved in flow cytometry training and education, facility design and operation, technology upgrade, application development and biosafety procedure implementation.

Maggie is actively interacting with local and international cytometry societies and has been a member of the Australasian Cytometry Society (ACS) since 2008 and a member of the International Society for Advancement of Cytometry (ISAC) since 2009. As an invited speaker, she has presented at a number of cytometry workshops and seminars. Now, she is a member of the Live Education Subcommittee of ISAC as well as a committee member of the Chinese Society of Biotechnology.

Past President


Helen McGuire, PhD
Senior Research Fellow
Ramaciotti Facility for Human Systems Biology
Charles Perkins Centre, The University of Sydney NSW 2050

Dr Helen McGuire is a Senior Lecturer within the Faculty of Medicine, at the University of Sydney. Her research focus and interests lie in the clinical application of immunological studies to a range of human diseases, and she is particularly passionate about applying recent technological advances such as mass cytometry. Having extensively researched in this area, she is highly regarded for her expertise in utilising mass cytometry for clinical profiling. She coordinates collaborative projects across many diverse clinical applications. Collaborators span groups local to the University of Sydney campus and beyond. In 2019 she was selected to the Marylou Ingram Scholar program by the International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry, and is currently serving on the ISAC Council. 

Executive Secretary

Henry Hui, PhD
Research Associate
Translational Cancer Pathology Laboratory
School of Biomedical Sciences, The University of Western Australia WA 6009

Dr Henry Hui is an early career researcher at the University of Western Australia and a Marylou Ingram Scholar (International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry). His internationally recognised research charters the intersection of cytometry technology and cutting-edge methodologies (protocol development) to leverage new frontiers in biological discovery and clinical application.

Henry is part of an award-winning, multidisciplinary research team that leads the world in imaging flow cytometry powered precision diagnostic developments for haematological malignancies and constitutional disorders in adults, children, and neonates. He is the co-inventor of the world-first “Immuno-flowFISH” method, a game-changer for blood cancer diagnostics that leverages the capabilities of imaging flow cytometry to vastly exceed current research and clinical testing modalities. In 2018, he was awarded the highly prestigious ANSTO 2018 Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology by the Australian Museum. Henry’s innovations have been patented in multiple countries and his cytometry expertise has drawn funding equivalent to $3.6M in value from industry partnerships, government grants and health-care organisations.

Henry has established global multidisciplinary collaborative networks that intersect research, academia, clinical and industry commercialisation pipelines. He currently collaborates with local tertiary hospitals, health care providers, large medical technology corporations (Luminex Corporation, USA and Sysmex Corporation, Japan) and world class diagnostic cancer centres (MD Anderson Cancer Centre, Texas USA and University of Cambridge, UK) for the global adoption of cytometry powered “bench to bedside” innovations. His long-term goal is to lead the innovation, application, influence, education, engagement, and outreach of cytometry in both scientific and clinical domains, to advance knowledge and health globally.


Joanna Roberts:

Joanna runs a flow cytometry and research company based in New Zealand. Working first as a research officer at the Malaghan Institute of Medical Research in the 1990s, Joanna took the role of Head of Flow Cytometry and Cell Sorting at the Malaghan Institute in the early 2000s, working to support the research aims of Cancer Immunology Biologists and Allergy and Inflammation Immunologists. Progressing to being Head of Platform for Flow Cytometry at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, Switzerland, Joanna prioritised supporting a diverse range of projects across immunology, nanomaterials, cell biology, and stem cell biology. Returning to New Zealand in 2009, Joanna worked in the agricultural research sector at AgResearch Ltd for several years before establishing her own business, flowjoanna, aiming to support scientists interested in using cytometry in a range of settings from commercial to academic projects.

Flowjoanna supports scientists and enterprise in a diverse range of sectors from conservation genomics to clinical trials in human health. Supporting the ACS in recent years as Executive Secretary (2018-2021), and being a recent member of the ISAC CYTOWomen taskforce, Joanna is now serving a two-year term as Treasurer of ACS and thoroughly enjoys supporting the work of the ACS through this.